Lit Up

The Voice of WIC

‘Across the Universe’ lives up to the hype October 22, 2007

Filed under: TV & Movies — NYU WIC @ 7:00 am

universe.jpgThe trailer left me drooling; the buzz left me wondering; the reviews left me confused. So I had to see it for myself. Across the Universe: is it really worth the hype?

In my opinion, YES.

The film tells the story of Jude (Jim Sturgess) and Lucy (Rachel Even Wood) in the age of love, war, and psychedelics. The tale is told primarily through the lyrics of Beatles’ songs, yet the plot remains linear; the singing is more like an extension of dialogue. With scenes shot right under the arch in our very own Washington Square Park, the movie is a thrilling and stimulating ride through the late 1960’s. Sturgess’ magnetic talent pulls you right into the story with him; he looks like McCartney and sounds like Lennon. Other notable cast members come in the form of Bono, Selma Hayek, and Eddie Izzard, each with their own short cameos. The cast is electric, and the visuals are mind-boggling. The ending was arguably vague, but overall, the movie was one of the most aesthetically engaging films I’ve ever seen. Really, Across the Universe left a smile across my face. Thus, I feel it is my personal duty to recommend this film to all Beatles-lovers with great enthusiasm. Trust me, and you can thank me later.

–Ali Feinstein

 

One Response to “‘Across the Universe’ lives up to the hype”

  1. Dumbledore Says:

    I agree! This movie was spectacular! I love Jim Sturgess! Great review, chut!


Leave a Reply

